looking for a good cd/sacd/dvd-a player. don't care about video quality.

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Jody_R, Mar 5, 2005.

1. Jody_R

Jody_R Auditioning

I just pulled the trigger on Paradigm reference studio 40s and hopefully a pioneer 1014 receiver as well if another buyer drops out. I just heard my first SACD while auditioning speakers and have decided that i'd like to take the plunge and build a nice library of hi-res music.

I would like any player I buy to be strong with all audio formats.. SACD, DVD-A, HDCD, redbook. It has to provide good bass management, preferably on a per speaker basis.

Oh and I'm new to the whole sacd thing... Is there no way to make use of the room-eq from the receiver when playing sacd sources? If not on the pioneer 1014, is there a receiver that CAN apply room correction to sacd sources? That's a feature I would pay for. Sorry, I'm not too clear on this point.

Getting back to the players.. I really don't care to spend extra money on fancy video processing, since I run my video from an HTPC that provides better processing for DVDs than I'd find in almost any dvd-player regardless of price.

As for my budget... less is better, but I don't have a fixed number in mind. I don't really want to spend more than a few hundred on a player though. Again, i care much more about the audio quality than the video. thanks.

2. Scott Lawrence

Scott Lawrence Stunt Coordinator

To be able to do EQing on an SACD/DVD-A, you'll have to step up to either:

1) A Denon SACD/DVD-A player that features the "Denon Link" feature, AND a Denon Receiver that features the "Denon Link" feature. This is Denon's proprietary connection for sending SACD/DVD-A digitally to the receiver. Make sure the reciever also features room-EQing (but I'd imagine any with Denon Link would)

OR