What's new

Looking for a decently priced universal remote (1 Viewer)

Shawn Shultzaberger

Supporting Actor
Well, my wife and kids have darn near banged my Outlaw 1050 remote to death. It's on it's last legs. It seems to make a nice torture device for them to use. Who knew?

So I was wondering what universal remote I could purchase that would work with my Outlaw 1050, Panny DVD RP-91, JVC TV, Dish Network receiver, JVC VCR, Sony CD player, Pioneer LD player and not kill the bank account (maybe $100 or less)?

Oh, and I guess it needs to be able to part time as a torture stick. :D

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
If you can bump your budget up to $150, the Harmony SST-659 is a great remote. It has a very high wife and kids acceptance factor. You can find out more info at Link Removed . I just purchased one to replace a Marantz RC2000 MKII universal that I have been using for the past four years. I paid $147, including shipping, from www.surfremotecontrol.com .

If you are firm with the $100 budget, the Home Theater Master remotes that James recommended are an excellent suggestion.

Steve Griswold

Stunt Coordinator
As I said in the other remote thread, The Radio Shack 15-2116 can deal with up to 8 devices, has a wealth of built-in codes, and has the benefit of a JP1 connector all for less than $30. The 15-2117 is identical except that it is RF (much better range).

Radio Shack 15-2116

The JP1 connector is honestly quite a pain to set up and program, but after it's all said and done you'll wonder how you lived without it. I have all my devices FULLY customized and programmed into my remote and I have used NONE of the learning memory. In addition I've programmed over buttons that normally don't allow learning.

Ron Reda

Senior HTF Member