What's new

Looking at the InFocus X1, but what about the 4805?? (1 Viewer)

Joe Zemaitis

Stunt Coordinator
Hello!

I'm new to the home theater thing so bare with me.

I'm looking at getting the X1 from InFocus. The price of 999.99 can't be beat. I've head alot of good things, but I've also heard some complaints about rainbows. What are your feelings on this? I'm comming from a 36inch non-hidef toshiba. I'm looking to spend $150 or so on a screen also.

Is there anything I should look out for? Also, what about this 4805 that I've heard so much about.... Is it going to be the same price as the X1?

Another thing... How can I watch normal TV on it, if there isn't the normal cable port... See I'm new, give me a break :)

Let me know what your thoughts are. I'm excited to move to a direct view projection.

Joe

brentl

Senior HTF Member
I suggest you look at the Benq Pb6100. It's $1000 with a $100 rebate, it has a 3x colour wheel, and accepts both interlaced and progressive on in VGA input.

It's smaller, better looking, and brighter.

Mine is coming today:)

Brent

Joseph Bolus

Senior HTF Member
I own and *love* my X1. The picture on this pj really "pops"! The thing actually looks better than my 1997-era Pioneer 55" RPTV, even though I'm projecting a 96" image! Unlike the BenQ 6100, it includes Faroudja DCDi video processing technology, which really "smooths out" the projected images from interlaced sources.

However, this projector was built to "swing both ways", if you will. It has a four segment color wheel, optimized for computer presentation work. The color wheel reverts to a three segment 2x wheel when utilized in its "Home Theater" mode. (The "white" segment of the wheel is switched off, leaving just the "Red-Blue-Green" segments active. This really helps out with the color purity, but cuts the lumen output of the projector in half.) The bottom line is, if you're sensitive to the DLP "rainbow" effect, then you will notice it with this projector.