What's new

Looking at 36" direct-view (1 Viewer)

Jason Lindahl

Auditioning
I am a newbie starting from scratch. I literally have no equipment at all. (I've been mooching off roommates but now they're gone.) I've been reading posts here for the past week or so and think I know what I want...

I've picked out the Panasonic RP82 based on recommendations I've read here.

I'm looking for a 36" direct view TV (most appropriate for my room size). I watch mostly movies, and play quite a bit of video games. I watch only 1-5 tv shows per week. I like the 36" size because in 16:9 mode it will still have a 33" diagonal picture (if my math is right). That's close to many wide screens in production (34") but cheaper. I'm looking to spend around $2000.

I'm would like an HD ready TV with 16:9 mode. Flat screen is not essential but would be nice. I will be ordering it from a wholesale club that I belong to, so I am limited to the brands listed below. Here are the one's I've found with the features I'm looking for. I don't know if these are the latest model numbers. Any other suggestions or recommendations? Which one should I buy? Thanks!

Sony - 36XBR450
Sony - 36HS500 - what's the difference between this and XBR?
Toshiba - 36HF71
Panasonic - CT36HX41 - have seen a few bad posts on this
JVC - 36P902
Hitachi - 36UDX10S

Steve_Tk

Senior HTF Member
If it were me, I would probably buy the sony XBR. But I really think the Hitachi you have listed has a better picture. I just like the XBR flat screen.

Mike_Stuewe

Stunt Coordinator
Crutchfield.com has the xbr800 for $2299 I believe with free in home delivery. Might want to check that out.

John-Miles

Screenwriter