List A Disappointment- I'll Go First...

James Edward

Supporting Actor
About two years ago, I began working for a small A/V install company. I imagined going from house to house, tweaking systems to within an inch of their existence, leaving a trail of great sounding/looking systems in my wake. I am only an installer; I do not have the job of selling the system or educating the customer as to what to expect.

The reality - not one customer so far has been interested in having what I described above. As long as the TV is big and bright, and the subwoofer rumbles, they are happy.

Set it up properly, you say, and they will be happy? Think again. Unless the subwoofer can be heard at all times, and easily locatable, people feel they have not gotten their money's worth. Rear speakers are routinely way too loud, but unless they can be heard at all times, they must not be working properly.
No one, with one or two exceptions, accepts sidebars on 4:3 programming. Therefore, the TV's routinely look stretched and otherwise distorted.

Take the TV out of torch mode, you say? Then they can't watch their plasma TV with all the curtains up at 1 in the afternoon. At night, you could land planes in their living rooms.

Another thing that bugs me is that so many people will spend enormous amounts of money for whole house audio, and have mediocre sounding music in 6 rooms rather than excellent sound in 2 or 3. I'm sorry, but there is just something not right about music coming from the ceiling. I have an excellent Tivoli table radio that sounds better. Not to mention cheaper.

My rant is now over. Thank you for this opportunity.

Kirk Gunn

Screenwriter
Now that the Airing of the Grievances is over.... on to the Feats of Strength !

"wrestle your father, Georgie"...."It's a Festivus miracle!"

Ever consider going to the sales side of the house so you can be more consultative. Good luck !

MarkHastings

Senior HTF Member