Linksys Wireless Option for Xbox

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff P, Dec 9, 2002.

  1. Jeff P

    Jeff P Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 1999
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Product Link
    Anybody tried this yet?? I need an alternative than running cable across the floor with a two year old running about....
    Thoughts??
     
  2. Michael St. Clair

    Joined:
    May 3, 1999
    Messages:
    6,001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have this exact setup and it works flawlessly.
     
  3. WillY

    WillY Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2000
    Messages:
    189
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I bought a Netgear wireless router (model number 814 or something like that). I am assuming the Linksys WET11 will work with it? I am going to go pick one up tonight. Unfortunately, my DSL is not up for some reason so I can't even test it out.

    So if I have one Xbox hooked up to my router via cat5 cable, and one Xbox upstairs hooked up to the WET11, can I still play system link games b/w the two?

    And is the WET11 the only option for hooking up an Xbox to a wireless network? It seems to be the most popular, but are there any other options, like using a bridge or something?
     
  4. Andre F

    Andre F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    That's so cool how they walk you through it...
     
  5. Tim Markley

    Tim Markley Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 1999
    Messages:
    1,279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A number of us here are using this exact same setup for XBox Live with great results. You can do the same thing with most any wireless router and wireless bridge but make sure that the router is supported by XBox Live before purchasing. The Linksys setup was very easy and worked perfectly the first time for me.
     
  6. Jeff P

    Jeff P Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 1999
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    WONDERFUL!!!! I have a Netgear Wireless 314 router which has worked great with all the computer's we have. Something to add to the Xmas list!!


    Thanks!!
     
  7. Leo

    Leo Second Unit

    Joined:
    Apr 4, 1999
    Messages:
    292
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm using to Linksys WAP11 (originally had it for my laptop), but then bridged my consoles in with a 2nd Linksys WAP11 and a 5 port hub. Now I have my PS2, Xbox, Gamecube and Dreamcast connected wirelessly. Very easy to setup and use.
     
  8. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. Jeff P

    Jeff P Agent

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 1999
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Thanks Joel, the work around was fairly simple and I have it working via the hardwire option currently. Hopefully, the wireless portion (which I am using while typing this) won't be too much more work....
     
  10. Joel Mack

    Joel Mack Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jun 29, 1999
    Messages:
    2,317
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  11. Ryan McLane

    Ryan McLane Auditioning

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 1999
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm considering going wireless. My situation is I'll have to run a 40-50ft cable through the house, does anyone know if this will have an impact on gameplay?
     
  12. Ben Seibert

    Ben Seibert Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2002
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have around 60 feet of cable, and notice no lag at all, so it should not be a problem.
     
  13. Andre F

    Andre F Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2000
    Messages:
    1,486
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I got some Xmas money so I'm getting this wireless config soon! [​IMG]
     
  14. Lee L

    Lee L Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2000
    Messages:
    868
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I just set mine up yesterday. I have a Netgear MR314 and the WET 11. It was not really a problem. Just make sure you follow the instructions at the link above and no problems.
     
  15. Todd Henry

    Todd Henry Second Unit

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2002
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can I use a WAP11 instead of a WET11 to setup my XBox?

    Todd
     
  16. Jason Quillen

    Jason Quillen Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Ok, I live in an apt with 4 other guys. We already have a router and my LAN cable goes into my room. With this Wireless router would I be able to plug that LAN cable into the wireless router and use both my computer and XBox live, or am I misunderstandig?
    JQ
     
  17. gregstaten

    gregstaten Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1997
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason - the WET11 (a wireless ethernet adapter) can be configured to either directly connect to a single device's ethernet cable and provide a connection to that system or to connect to a router and provide a signal to all other devices on the router. It does, however, require a wireless router to (wirelessly) communicate with.

    As others have pointed out, this thing is a breeze to configure and I've been xbox live-ing for the last couple of days.

    -greg
     
  18. Jason Quillen

    Jason Quillen Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2000
    Messages:
    622
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    So to use the wireless router I'd have to buy the WET11 and configure it, right?
    Could I plug the XBox Live into the 4th (unused) port on our current router and just have it work that way (setup like any other Internet using computer)?
    Sorry for all the questions - I got XBox Live for XMas and havent been back to the Apt. to set it up, so I'm just wondering if I can get away with just buying a new Lan cord for it (saves $$ for this poor college student) or if I should also buy this wireless WET II and Router at the same time. Thanks.
    JQ
     
  19. Chris Rein

    Chris Rein Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 18, 2000
    Messages:
    245
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Can one of you post your download speeds?

    Going direct, I was getting 6550KB. I just installed the Wet-11 and am getting a measly 600Kb! For those who don't know, go to your settings in Xbox live, run connect and when it's done, hit "Y" to see the speeds.

    Please let me know what you find out. Also, what firmware are you running on the WET-11 and the BEFW11SR Ver.2 Router.

    Thanks!

    Chris
     
  20. gregstaten

    gregstaten Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 1, 1997
    Messages:
    608
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Jason - if you can directly connect via an ethernet port on a router, there's absolutely no reason to go wireless. The only reason I'm using a wireless connection is that the cable modem and router are upstairs in my office and the Xbox is downstairs in the living room.

    -greg
     

Share This Page