Link for switchbox used for DVD-A/SACD ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by anthony_b, Aug 23, 2002.

  1. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Does anyone have a picture or a link of the box people are using to switch between there DVD-A and SACD players ?.....If you happen to have one, is there any signal loss or a downgrade in the units performance going through this box ?
     
  2. Phil A

    Phil A Producer

    Joined:
    Oct 1, 2000
    Messages:
    3,171
    Likes Received:
    37
    Location:
    Central FL
    Real Name:
    Phil
    Some people are using multiple Radio Shack swithcers, the Sony ES preamp or http://home.attbi.com/~shawnfogg/. I have not tried anything yet. My DVD-A player is in the bedroom system which backs to the main system and is connected to the main system all the time in 2-channel and I made a long 6-channel cable if I want to swap with the SACD player. I guess I am hoping for the potential for a DVD-A digital out (not holding my breath) and also hoping that my preamp will be upgraded to accept it and then I can have the best of both worlds. If it does not eventually happen, I will consider the alternatives.
     
  3. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Phil, thanks.
     
  4. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anthony, I use two Radio Shack switch boxes. They are $15 each, and the part number is 15-1952. You should be able to find it on radioshack.com by searching for model number 15-1952. These switch boxes are available online or in the stores.
     
  5. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Keith, do they effect the sound quality at all ?
     
  6. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anthony, to my ears, the Radio Shack switch boxes have no adverse effect on sound quality. I should have mentioned that in my previous post. Sorry for the omission.
     
  7. Rich Malloy

    Rich Malloy Producer

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2000
    Messages:
    3,998
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm confused... regarding that RadioShack switcher Keith recommends, part no. 15-1952, you're saying it will switch between the 5.1 inputs of an SACD player and those of a DVD-A player? It doesn't appear to have even a single set of 5.1 inputs, much less two. What am I missing?
     
  8. anthony_b

    anthony_b Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2000
    Messages:
    1,071
    Likes Received:
    3
    Rich, you need to purchase two sets of boxes.
     
  9. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich, as I said to Anthony, I use two of the Radio Shack 15-1952 A/V switch boxes to switch between SACD and DVD-Audio. Each switch box has two A/V inputs (left and right audio and composite video) and one output. The inputs are marked 'A' and 'B', and there is an A/B switch on the top of the box. Here is how I use the switch boxes:
    Box 1
    Input A: DVD-Audio front left, front right, and center
    Input B: SACD front left, front right, and center
    Output: Front left, front right, and center to receiver's 5.1-channel inputs
    Box 2
    Input A: DVD-Audio rear left, rear right, and subwoofer
    Input B: SACD rear left, rear right, and subwoofer
    Output: Rear left, and rear right, and subwoofer to receiver's 5.1-channel inputs
    Hope that helps.
     
  10. David Nolan

    David Nolan Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2002
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    on a slightly related note, say i only owned stereo sacd's for now and just wanted to run the l/r outs to my cd ins on my receiver rather than the 5.1 inputs. would that work? then i could leave my dvd-a plugged into the 5.1 inputs

    thanks

    david
     
  11. KeithH

    KeithH Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2000
    Messages:
    9,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    David, absolutely. You can use the stereo analog outputs on your SACD player for both CDs and stereo SACDs.
     
  12. TomCW

    TomCW Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2002
    Messages:
    339
    Likes Received:
    0
    David,
    That should work, if your front speakers are full range, and if you turn bass management off on your player, and select analog direct (or it's equivalent) on your receiver.
    Otherwise, if the player is performing bass management, the bass will go nowhere, and if the receiver isn't in analog mode it (the receiver) will convert the analog signal to digital to perform bass management, most likely degrading the sound.
    Tom
     

Share This Page