What's new

like to get a region free dvd player, newbie here, please help! (1 Viewer)

VincentY

Stunt Coordinator
hi, i'm a long time 2 ch audiophile finally putting together my first home theater system (it took soooo long). i purchased: sony 60xbr800, have already a 1-yr old sony 700P dvd player, tivo, time warner 3100HD high def cable box, B&K 505, Rockets speakers, and various power conditioning devices/surge protectors (ExactPower/Brickwall).

i've been enjoying (for only around 1 month) some Kurosawa dvds (Red Beard), some Criterion dvds, some Hong Kong/China dvds (Not One Less, and some silly HK slapstick dvds which i do NOT like).

more and more, i've noticed that if i really would like to watch dvds of all types, most notably Avalon, the Polish language film made by the Japanese anime director, it only comes in non-region 1.

i don't know anything about region free dvds, and even less about which etailer to get it from. May i please ask for advice? so many people seem to have them and are enjoying dvds from everywhere.

i'm a little fussy about quality, so a very poor quality one won't do. but progressive is not the most important feature since i have a good tv and it has a good internal deinterlacer, so feeding my tv with an interlaced (non progressive) signal frequently results in a superior picture than using the often poor deinterlacer in many cheap progressive dvd players. of course, if there is a progressive region free dvd player that is very good, then i'll have to option to use it as progressive OR interlaced depending on whether the dvd's own deinterlacer is better or my tv's own deinterlacer is better.

i'm not interested in spending $1000 for this region free player. i hear that you can spend much less and be perfectly pleased with the results. i don't even know who the reliable etailers are for this type of thing.

any advice would be appreciated. many thanks.

Jeff Kleist

Senior HTF Member