LG CD Burners-Any good?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Chris Bardon, Sep 26, 2002.

1. Chris Bardon

Chris Bardon Cinematographer

Well, it looks like my HP 7200i might have finally given up on me after four years, which I suppose that I can accept...

If this is the case though, I need a new CD writer, and I don't really have the cash to invest in a DVD-R quite yet. I'm looking at an OEM LG 10x CDRW for $95-are their drives any good? Speed is not really an issue (I've been using a 2x burner for four years), but reliability is. I've had a lot of problems with discs burned on crappy CD writers, and want something that'll create burns that I can read anywhere.

2. Kris McLaughlin

Kris McLaughlin Stunt Coordinator

Hi Chris,
    I've had an LG CED-8120B 12/8/32x CDRW for about 6 months now. No problems whatsoever with it. Only thing is that I was disappointed to learn that it didn't have the Burn-Proof feature, but that was my own fault for not doing my homework before buying.

Cheers,

3. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

I have a 24/10/40 Lg it works well, but I only paid $62 about a month ago.

32/10/40 CDRWs go for $70 for an OEM model around here. While a Lite-on goes for $80.

4. NickSo

NickSo Producer

Nick So
    Do most LG burners NOT have any buffer underrun protection (BurnProof)? They're selling for pretty cheap up here. approx $80CAD ($51) at a B&M.

I hope i dont hijack this thread, but:
    How do BenQ (AOpen) burners hold up? I found a 32x10x40x BenQ burner for $73CAD ($47USD) without any MIRs or coupons at a B&M.
    How bout SAMSUNG? I found a 24x10x40x samsung for only $69 ($44 USD)

5. brentl

brentl Cinematographer

I think most newer LG drives DO have buffer underun protection. Mine also has an 8meg buffer.

From a review of mine;