Lexicon MC-1 or B&K 30

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Craig Ball, Jan 20, 2002.

  1. Craig Ball

    Craig Ball Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2000
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just curious on positives and negatives between the two, I can get a brand new B&K for $2049 or a used MC-1 for $2499. What do you guys think? If it helps see my signature to see the rest of my equipment.

    Craig
     
  2. JackIR

    JackIR Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2001
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I use to have a Yamaha RX-V1 and sold that for the Ref30. It is one of the best, most flexible units for the $$$.
     
  3. Michael Mohrmann

    Michael Mohrmann Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2001
    Messages:
    1,394
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It should be noted that the Lexicon processors do not work with a single rear center. If your plan is to use a single rear center, you might want to skip the MC-1. OTOH, if you can plan for two speakers for the sides and two speakers for the rears, then you might want to consider the MC-1 which excels with Logic 7 in a 7.1 setup.

    Michael
     
  4. John Kotches

    John Kotches Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well the silly question I have is what gear do you expect to hook up to this preamp/processor? If you have analog sources, and don't want to digitize them, that rules out the MC-1.

    OTOH, if everything is digital in your system, it's a different story, and the MC-1 might be worth consideration.

    Either way, you've got a good solution in your hands.

    Regards,
     
  5. Craig Ball

    Craig Ball Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2000
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    John, I left my signature in the first post so you sould see what equipment i'm going to be using. I didn't realize that the MC-1 didn't have any analog direct inputs, on the other hand the only analog sources i have right now is my tuner and vcr, wouldn't digitizing these just make it better?

    Craig
     
  6. John Kotches

    John Kotches Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2000
    Messages:
    2,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Craig,

    You'll have to digitize to get to DPL or DPL-2 anyway.

    I was referring to something along the lines of SACD/DVD-A or the turntable that's also listed.

    If you wanted to, B&K makes a phono stage that also includes an A/D converter, running at 24bit/96K.

    Regards,
     

Share This Page