Legal issues regarding a Canadian citizen who wants to move to America

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Bob Movies, Dec 10, 2002.

1. Bob Movies

Bob Movies Stunt Coordinator

Hi Everyone,

I'm a Canadian citizen who lives in Toronto. I will be graduating from university in April, and I want to move to Los Angeles when I graduate. I'm an aspiring writer and director, and I want to be where the movies are made. I've been there twice this year on business, and I'm convinced that it's the place for me.

Is there any way for me to live there other than becoming a U.S. citizen? I'm not anti-American or anything like that, I just don't think that they'd let me become a U.S. citizen, considering that I'm not bringing any new skills into the country. Canadians are not elligible for the INS lottery, so that method is not available to me either.

Is it possible for me to live or work there and still be a Canadian citizen? From what I gather, I would not be able to work without a green card, which would make it difficult to live there considering that I would have no way to earn any money!

If there is anyone here who has immigrated into the USA or is a Canadian living in the USA, I would love to hear about your experience, and any tips you might have for me.

Thanks!

Bob

2. Nathan*W

Nathan*W Screenwriter

Nathan
    You could marry an American. My brother-in-law was born in Vancouver, BC and lived here for years as a Canadian. He did have to become a citizen eventually though, because of his job. (State Trooper)

3. Scott Merryfield

Scott Merryfield Executive Producer

You will need to apply for permanent residency. You do not need to be a citizen to live in the US -- in fact, you must be a resident for several (seven?) years before you can apply for citizenship.