learning foriegn languages

Discussion in 'After Hours Lounge (Off Topic)' started by Garrett Lundy, Nov 16, 2004.

1. Garrett Lundy

Garrett Lundy Producer

I am intrested in learning some foriegn languages. I haven't had any formal classes since highschool. I was wondering if any member of this forum has any experience with any of the foriegn language 'learn at home' material from Berlitz, Rosetta Stone, or others?

*If you're familiar with more than one... which company is best for an absolute newbie?

2. Rennie Cowan

Rennie Cowan Agent

Well, I am no expert, but I should think that studying at home is a good start. I love the french language and I was in France two months ago. A good deal of the French I studied in college came back to me rather naturally, I was surprised, and I can read it pretty well. Whenever I had to ask for directions I did very well. [​IMG] Glad to have a half decent memory....I would also suggest taking a formal class. I tend to believe that a classroom environment is the best place to learn, to be honest.

3. JeremySt

JeremySt Screenwriter

Jeremy
    Ive been wanting to learn German for a while... I was hoping there was a "book on tape" approach. :b I took 2 years of Spanish in HS. It was the only language offerd in my HS, and I was kinda bummed. Dont remember too much of it. I am of Dutch / German heritage, so I figured German would be kinda cool to learn. I guess the library is the first step.

4. Martin G

Martin G Second Unit

I've heard very good things about the program that they give to diplomats when they need to learn a new language. I know that they used to be published, but I can't remember who it was or what they were called.

5. John Alvarez

John Alvarez Screenwriter