LD AC3 question

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Grant B, Sep 24, 2001.

  1. Grant B

    Grant B Producer

    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2000
    Messages:
    3,210
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got a LD player with an AC3 out and boy does it sound great!
    Since I've only been playing AC3 discs, it just dawned on me, "if a disc does not have AC3 soundtrack, do I also need to hook up the non-modulated digital output?"
    DTS discs output to the AC3 out?
    I already haave the analogs hooked up for the couple non-digital sound discs and the ones that have commentaries on those tracks
    (Bought the player used without manual)
    Thanks in advance
    Grant
    ------------------
    Why?
    Why do you keep hounding me and harassing me and hounding me?
    It's not like I don't have anything better to do, you know.
    It's not like the Phantom Cruiser is going to wax itself.
    It's not like last night's burrito stain will just up and remove itself from my cape.
    I am a superhero!
    A very very busy superhero! Who does...things!
    Now get out of here before I tell your mother.
    AND DON'T TRAMPLE MY BEGONIAS!
    -Space Ghost..
     
  2. Don O'Brien

    Don O'Brien Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2000
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    0
    For PCM and DTS you will need to have the standard digital audio out connected to the processor. AC3/DD is on an RF carrier by itself on LD, nothing else will be output there.
    ------------------
     
  3. Bhagi Katbamna

    Bhagi Katbamna Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2000
    Messages:
    870
    Likes Received:
    0
    For DTS you need the digital output. For PCM you can use the digital output or the analog outputs(using the D/A converters in the player).
     

Share This Page