What's new

Lawn Care Advice (merged thread) (1 Viewer)

Ron Alcasid

Stunt Coordinator
I just bought my first home. The house had been vacant for about three weeks and the grass is now brown and dry. Is it possible to bring it back to life? I am a total newbie when it comes to lawn care.

Chris Lanni

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Christopher
Basically Ron your grass is in hybernation. With all of the heat and lack of rain we have had your grass has dried out. The only thing that I know of is to get yourself a decent water sprinkler and let loose all over the lawn. Make sure you move it around the lawn so as to get maximum coverage. Whatever you do don't put any fertilizer on the lawn, your likely to burn the grass even worse.

Chris

Chris Lanni

Stunt Coordinator
Real Name
Christopher
Congrats on your first house. I also just purchased my first home July 1st. I will have a wife to go with it come Saturday.

Chris

Jeff Ulmer

Senior HTF Member
Deceased Member
Leave it lie and let it die! :)
Personally, I very much enjoy the lawn turning brown, since it eliminates mowing. If only the dandelions would take a hint and follow suit!
Chris is correct, the lawn simply needs watering. It doesn't take much water (not hours and hours), but a good soak once a week should revive it. Check with your local district about watering restrictions though, some will fine you if you are caught watering when you aren't supposed to.

Jed M

Senior HTF Member
Ron, what part of the world are you located? If you live around my parts its going to take a lot more water than once a week. If you get a lot of natural rainfall then that is a different story.

Bruce Chang

Second Unit
Make sure you mow different differient directions each week. If you went up and down last week, then you should go down and up. Don't overwater. Step on the grass a couple times, it massages the grass. These are things I heard from my parents and did it.

Anders Englund

Second Unit