What's new

Lawn care advice: grubs (1 Viewer)

Brett_H

Second Unit
All,

My wife and I recently moved into our first home, and we're both complete novices at lawn care. Our yard is starting to turn ugly, and we're guessing it's due to grubs. There are irregular sports of dead grass showing up along with a lot of birds that seem to be feeding on something white.

We bought a spreader and some grub control stuff from Lowes (can't recall the name of it now) and put that down a few weeks ago. The front yard seems to be getting worse, while the back looks the same or maybe a bit better.

Any suggestions on what to do now? Once grubs attack your lawn, do you have to replace the dead grass, or will it grow back on its own. Are we SOL for this season now, or is there anything we can do to restore things before the real heat of summer hits?

Thanks,
-Brett.

Joe Szott

Screenwriter
Real Name
Joe S.
They have stuff at home depot and lowes called "Tricytlcine" (sp?!?) or something similar. It does a very good job or killing whatever nasties live under the lawn while leaving the grass alive. We had a bad grub outbreak last year and a couple generous doses of that stuff killed them all. It's all over in the garden section, take a peek.

The grass doesn't grow back though if it is a sizable patch (bigger than say a frisbee), you'll have to redo that. Easiest way is to take a hand spade or rake and pull up / mulch the old grass into the earth, then apply some patch master and keep it wet for a week or two. If it is a really large area (say 100 sq ft +), then you'll want to rototil the soil and resod the whole thing at once.

It will take a few days to kill the grubs completely and a few weeks to get grass growing again. No worries though, you could probably be back in the green by this Fall...

Tim Fennell

Stunt Coordinator