latex primer ok?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by PaulDF, Nov 13, 2002.

1. PaulDF

PaulDF Second Unit

I am by no means a painter, so I have a dumb question... Can I use a latex primer under a "Colors in Plastic" paint (oil based?). I have a can of good quality primer and would like to use it on my MDF box. Thanks.

2. Mel Silva

Mel Silva Agent

Paul,
    I'm no expert, but I would try and remain consistant with your paint bases. Use the latex primer under latex paint and use an oil bsaed primer for your oil base paint. I believe that shellac and denatured alcohol based primers like KILZ can be used with either.

3. KurtJ

KurtJ Stunt Coordinator

Yup, stick with a consistent paint type; either latex or oil-based.

4. Patrick Sun

Patrick Sun Moderator

When in doubt, always test the paint combination on scrap before using it on the final product.

5. Dave Poehlman

Dave Poehlman Producer

The way I understand it: You can put latex over oil, but you should avoid oil over latex.

The reason, I believe (waiting for a painter to chime in here) is the oil paint seals in any moisture that may be left in the latex (paint may feel dry to the touch, but may take several days to fully dry) and may not allow it to dry properly.

I could argue this, because I had painted the back panel of my sub with latex PVC primer and then inadvertantly covered it with an oil based enamel. However, the latex was allowed to dry for several days in a hot garage.. it turned out fine.

6. Dave Milne

Dave Milne Supporting Actor

I never use latex primers for anything (but house painting) because they don't sand worth a darn. Half of the reason for using a primer in a fine finish painting process is to smooth surface imperfections --which requires sanding.

7. Al Garay

Al Garay Stunt Coordinator