1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Latest DVD technology ?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kheng Hong, Oct 18, 2001.

1. Kheng Hong

Kheng Hong Agent

I'm upgrading my player. What should I look out for?
    I know several, can anyone add to this?
    1.DVD component output
    2.Progressive scan
    3.DTS-ES? Is the player involved here or is it just the amplifier?
    ------------------
    Sony ES Poster Boy

2. JasonKrol

JasonKrol Supporting Actor

#3) the player and the receiver both need to support the technology (ie DTS, DTS EX, DD EX, etc.) and I guess youll need more speakers too if your getting es/ex
    but numbers 1 and 2 are obviously a must! (I hear that if you can get a DVD that support RGB, and your tv is such, thats better than component, but please, im no expert.)
    ------------------
    - Jason
    My DVD Collection | My Home Theater
    "what ya got here is two people dragging a third..."

3. John Kotches

John Kotches Cinematographer

Kheng,
    DTS-ES is a function of the DTS decoder, in almost every system, this is either the receiver or the preamp/processor.
    I know of no DVD player with a DTS decoder that supports DTS-ES discrete or matrix decoding. Of course this doesn't mean there isn't one somewhere [​IMG]
    Regards,
    ------------------
    John Kotches
    Contributing Writer
    Secrets of Home Theater and High Fidelity

4. Howard Christian

DTS-ES is really the job of the receiver or pre/pro as they have mentioned. What you really want to maybe lookout for is DVD-audio and the absence of the chroma bug. As usual I would recommend the Panasonic RP-91K, besides having component video and progressive scan, there's no chroma bug problems and also support DVD-Audio. It has been getting rave reviews, just do a search on it.