Last nite's ABC hockey game, did it start out "narrow" everywhere?

Discussion in 'TV Shows' started by Rachael B, Jun 1, 2004.

  1. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Game 4 of the Stanley Cup. I turned it on and it started out not in hi-def, with black bars on the sides, SD. I watched something else and went back just as the 3rd period started and it was in hi-def. Is my local having trouble remembering to flip a switch or was last night's goof national?
     
  2. Jeff Gatie

    Jeff Gatie Lead Actor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2002
    Messages:
    6,531
    Likes Received:
    15
    It started out SD with bars on the side here also. I have Comcast HD out of Boston. I had to leave to go placate my mother's ongoing fear about gas fireplaces and by the time I made it to her house it was switched to HD. Must have been an ABC screw up.
     
  3. Erik_C

    Erik_C Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 15, 2000
    Messages:
    186
    Likes Received:
    0
    Was in HD the whole time in Washington, DC.
     
  4. Rachael B

    Rachael B Producer

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2000
    Messages:
    4,687
    Likes Received:
    27
    Location:
    Knocksville, TN
    Real Name:
    Rachael Bellomy
    Well Jeff, maybe alot of affiliates get careless? Maybe a few more folks will check in?
     
  5. Hanson

    Hanson Producer

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 1998
    Messages:
    4,635
    Likes Received:
    120
    Real Name:
    Hanson
    It was narrow in the NY-NJ area. I thought they weren't showing it in HD at all, so I stopped recording and erased all the files. I wasn't interested in the game, but I did want to record it as a tech demo for one of my hockey fan friends.
     

Share This Page