What's new

Laptop vs. Desktop (1 Viewer)

Jim Reynolds

Agent
My daugther leaves for college in the fall and my wife and I are going back and forth as to which to give her.The desktop won't get stolen but it isn't very portable and my wife is concerned that with the constant opening and closing of the laptop that it won't make it through the 4 years.Anyone gone through this? Thanks,Jim

Tekara

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Robert
I would only get a laptop if there's plans of using it in class. in my personal experience, being a college student, i have yet to find a class where's it's been useful to to type up something on the laptop, matter of fact, only times I've seen a laptop in a lecture the kid was using it to watch simpsons episodes.

so I'd go with the desktop, it's less expensive, easily upgradable, tends to be more powerful and has more storage (face it she's gonna use the bandwidth and freedom to DL music and such off the net :D) and if size is an issue there are great solutions (flat LCDs and the shuttle cases).

my 2cents

Michael*K

Screenwriter
I'd recommend the laptop, definitely. Even if she never brings it to class, it's good to have the freedom to move it anywhere she wants. What if she has a doofus roommate and wants to get out of her dorm to get research done? And today's campuses are set up with wireless connectivity, so she can probably tap into the Net from the library, student union and maybe even the classrooms. Plus, the laptop will take up a lot less room...important in dorm rooms where space is at a premium. As for how rugged they are, I have a four year old laptop that was basically used as a desktop replacement. It's survived thousands of openings and closings without the hinge breaking. Heck, I've even dropped the thing a few times with no adverse results. Of course, it is an Apple laptop. Don't know how the quality of PC manufacturers would stack up. Not very favorably I would imagine.