Kubrick

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Andrew_Sch, Jan 5, 2002.

1. Andrew_Sch

Andrew_Sch Cinematographer

Okay, I'm new to Kubrick (just watched Full Metal Jacket) and I need someone to explain to me why all his DVD's are fullscreen. I know this has probably been discussed to death before I got here, but I'm a little behind, so it would be real helpful if somebody could explain this situation to me.

2. David Lambert

David Lambert Executive Producer

I read somewhere recently that, toward the end, Kubrick preferred the "Academy Ratio" format (roughly 4:3) to the widescreen format, and filmed all of his movies that way.

My question is, HOW WERE THEY SHOW IN THE THEATER? Was, for instance, Eyes Wide Shut shown Widescreen or Flat or Academy?

3. Mick Wright

Mick Wright Second Unit

4. Rob Lutter

Rob Lutter Producer

I believe that Kubrick

a.) Wanted the best presentation of his film in the theater and also at home... this was also why he used mono, the man wanted controlled conditions so everyone could enjoy his movies the same

b.) Kubrick loved:

h

e

i

g

h

t

... most of his movies after the beginning of VHS (after The Shining) had a '1.85 safety zone' in which they would look good in both 4:3 and 1.85.

5. Tom-G

Tom-G Screenwriter

Tom G

6. cafink

cafink Producer

Carl Fink
    Most 1.85:1 movies are actually recorded on film that has an aspect ratio of 1.37:1. When they're shown in the theater, the top and bottom is cropped off to create the widescreen image. For home video, the widescreen release retains this composition, while the "full screen" version generally opens up the mattes — you'll see a bit more at the top and bottom of the frame, while no picture is lost on the sides. This is a very simplified explanation, but that's basically what happens.