know a good place to buy a/v equip in NYC?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by BurkeP, Dec 5, 2001.

1. BurkeP

BurkeP Extra

Thanks in advance for your help. I'm new to NYC and will be helping someone put together a simple a/v system in their new apartment. Can anyone recommend a couple of good shops for a moderately priced system (with better quality inventory and more knowledgeable staff than CC or the Wiz)? Specifically, I'm going to be looking for a pair of small bookshelf speakers, a small subwoofer, DVD/CD player, receiver, and TV.

This person's budget will probably be in this neighorhood: under $1000 for 2 speakers, under $1000 for receiver, under $500 for DVD player. TV I don't know, but he says he wants a big one. Any suggestions on where to see some good TV's?

Definitely prefer Manhattan, but will go to other boroughs or New Jersey if absolutely necessary to see good equipment at a good price.

Thanks again,

Paul

2. Holadem

Holadem Lead Actor

Sound City, 45th ST between 5th & 6th I believe. For excellent service and good prices speak to Steve for audio. They carry Paradigm, PSB, Monitor Audio, M7K, Klipsch etc... Also, Denon, Onkyo, HK, Sony...
    Stereo Exchange downtown on Broadway, around Lafayette St I think. They are more high end, with great listening rooms, but also less likely to offer good discounts I believe. They carry B&W, DefTech, Mirage and other expensive stuff [​IMG] (no paradigm).
    I would take Sound City anyday, especially with your budget. These are the only two I have dealt with, other will chime in. So come, buy equipement, go see a broadway show, take a cab, dine out, SPEND SOME MONEY! (We need it [​IMG] )
    --
    Holadem

3. JerryW

JerryW Supporting Actor

4. RicP

RicP Screenwriter

Even though you may not purchase anything there...you should check out Park Avenue Audio on Park and 29th street.