1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

Klipsch Synergy SF2s

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Jeff_PxR, Feb 11, 2003.

1. Jeff_PxR

Jeff_PxR Stunt Coordinator

sorry for such a basic question--but I am new to this. I am getting a home theater set up and am considering these speakers as my towers. My room is about 20 by 20 with open walls on 2 sides to rest of house. Are these good speakers for the price? I have a Yamaha SW150 double 8 inch subwoofer--do you think this sub will be sufficient with these speakers or should I go with a 10 inch sub? Thanks!

2. Michael R Price

Michael R Price Screenwriter

Hi Jeff,

The Klipsch Synergy series are nice speakers. However, if you like the Klipsch sound I would consider saving a little money and purchasing the more popular RB-5 or RF-3 Reference models, which usually sell for $550-750. They are apparently a significant step up in quality, and I can say from experience that the RB-5 is a really good sounding speaker. The difference between those two is that the RB-5 has limited bass response and lower sensitivity, and has a very nice wood finish; the RF-3 is a larger tower and costs the same, but is only available in black vinyl.

The subwoofer you have is most likely not powerful enough to play cleanly at higher levels. Additionally, it probably has trouble making deeper bass and may not sound great for music. Depending on your budget and movie/music preferences, I'll have to again recommend to hold off on purchasing a subwoofer for now, until you can purchase a higher quality one. With the Klipsch speakers I have a feeling the 8" Yamaha would detract from the experience.