Klipsch RF-3II's or PSB Image Series?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Alexander G., Jan 25, 2002.

1. Alexander G.

Alexander G. Extra

I am very new to speaker/stereo equipment and would like your opinions. I recently looked at the Klipsch RF-3II's and PSB Infinity series speakers. I listen mainly to alternative/rock music, and the PSB speakers sounded much better than the Klipsch for that type of music. I also watched part of a movie because I plan to use them with a home theater system later on. What are your thoughts on the two speakers? Can you give me any suggestions for other speakers in this price range ($800 for the pair of mains for both the Klipsch and PSB)? Any other tips are greatly appreciated.

2. Sihan Goi

Sihan Goi Second Unit

Personally I also prefer PSB to Klipsch...but I could be biased. At that price range, you could also be looking at the Diva 4.1/5.1 or the Paradigm Monitor series.

3. Alexander G.

Alexander G. Extra

Sorry, I didn't mean the Infinity series, I mean the Image series. Thanks for your response though, I'll look into those.

4. DanaA

DanaA Screenwriter

I've listened to both and ended up buying Klipsch, RB-5 not RF-3, for my bedroom set up. Both are excellent speaker lines, in my opinion, as would be the previously mentioned Swans. You'd really have to give them and others a long listening to to decide which ones best suited your taste. I chose the Klipsch because they came closest to the sound I prefer for the music I most often listen to.

5. Alexander G.

Alexander G. Extra

I listened to the Paradigm Monitor series today, and I liked it a lot. Like the PSB (which I also liked), they aer $800 for the pair of mains. Any more comments on these two setups? For those of you who own Paradigm, which receiver would you recommend?

6. Joseph Janas

Joseph Janas Auditioning

Alexander,