Klipsch Quintet's vs JBL NSP1 II

Discussion in 'Speakers' started by todd<>C, Jan 12, 2004.

1. todd<>C

todd<>C Extra

Which would you recommend as far as overall quality of product? Can get the Klipsch for 399 and JBLs for 215. I know speakers should depend on the users ear, but I am new to this and wanted some outside opinions. I have listend to the Klipsch and was liked them but I also liked the JBLs.

2. Jason Hammerly

Jason Hammerly Supporting Actor

The Quintets are not able to extend anywhere near deep enough IMO. I would bet their low frequency cutoff is around 180 hz, where as the JBL's are I believe around 90 hz which makes for a much smoother transition between speakers and sub. For the money the JBL's are much better speakers. For the same money, it's a safe bet that the JBL's are much better speakers actually. To each his own though. I listened to both, and I owned the NSP package. CAn't beat it for the price. This is all my opinion of course as I'm sure you'll get plenty of Quintet lovers as well. You can get the NSP set from bhphotovideo.com for $200 shipped when they are in stock. Just an FYI.

Jason

3. todd<>C

todd<>C Extra

Jason, thanks for your response. What sub did you get to go with the JBLs?

4. Frank Carter

Frank Carter Screenwriter

I'm a huge Klipsch fan but I've had listened to both speakers systems at home and the JBL are easily the better system in every regard. I would only go with the Quintet's if you're severely limited on space.

You can see some FR data on both systems from Sound & Vision over at Phil I.'s website:

http://www.geocities.com/p_iturra/Misc_HT_Speakers.html

5. Jason Hammerly

Jason Hammerly Supporting Actor