Klipsch Quintet...

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Paul Cole, Aug 28, 2001.

1. Paul Cole

Paul Cole Agent

...on Ebay "new" without sub for $350. I'm on a very limited budget, should I grab these?
    I'm going to pick up an Onkyo 595 and I'm in need of some decent budget speakers.
    A couple of you guy's gave me some solid advice and told me to hold off on the sub for now and spend what I can on either a 5 piece set or mains/center. I only have about $500 maybe $600 to spend right now and thought this was a good buy. Would I have enough left over for a "decent" sub?
    Also, what is your take on the Polk RM6600? And I don't see the Bose Acoustimass systems mentioned much. Are they garbage?
    Sorry if my questions are stupid but I'm just getting into this and need some help. Thanks

2. Kevin_Kr

Kevin_Kr Supporting Actor

Quintets are great! At a retail store they can be had for about $450.00. I would go for it.

3. Baldemar Garcia

Baldemar Garcia Stunt Coordinator

Paul,
    I'm still recommending the Velodyne CT set from onecall. At $250 + shipping, it's the best value, and not just because of the price. It really sounds very good to my ears, with very good midbass response.
    The Quintets are just a little small for decent midbass response. If you use the receiver's crossover, you will have a 'gap' between the sub and Quintets. If you use the sub's crossover to get around this, your sub will become 'localized', and may be a bit distracting (depending on where it's located relative to the front speakers). But if you have to have speakers that small, I believe they are good enough.
    Also, the JBL NSP1 are very impressive. They may even be a better deal all around since they include mounting hardware (the Velodynes don't). And I really like the center channel from the JBL set. And they sound great to me too! Should be able to find them for

4. Paul Cole

Paul Cole Agent