What's new

Klipsch or JBL? (1 Viewer)

DrewGoodson

Auditioning
Hey guys, I am a newbie to home-theater and I am looking for my first set-up. I have an 800 dollar budget and I am looking for the best system for my money. I have pretty much decided against an HTIB because I hear they don't sound too good for music. I think I am going to go with a receiver and two main speakers because of my limited budget and will expand later. Right now, I am pretty set on a H/K receiver (probably the 325), but I am going crazy on the speakers. Out of all the ones that I have listened to at Best Buy the two brands I like the best are Klipsch and JBL specifically the SF-2 with Klipsch and the JBL E-80. I just can decide between the two. Can anyone offer input?

I am also open to other recommandations as well on different speakers or recievers that maybe a better deal. Also, where the best place to buy speakers would be great too.

Thanks,
Drew

Scott*B

Stunt Coordinator
It's all about what sounds best to you. I've heard both and currently own the JBL's. I've got the E90's but they are very close to the E80's. The E90's were listed as the same price at my local BB. A friend hooked me up w/ employee pricing and the JBL's were too good to pass up. I liked the Klipsch alot too. Listen to them as best you can and go with what you feel sounds the best. You can't go wrong with either brand.

ChrisWiggles

Senior HTF Member
I don't like klipsch, and I don't particularly like JBL. I am a big fan of the paradigm performance series for entry-level systems. Atoms or titans are incredible performers, take a listen. Bottom line though is listen and pick what sounds best to you. I know JBL and klipsch have a lot of fans, but klipsch especially drives me nuts. IT's all subjective.

David Ruggiero

Stunt Coordinator