Klipsch compared to *blush* Bose

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Pat_C, Nov 29, 2003.

1. Pat_C

Pat_C Agent

I've read every thread in this forum regarding Bose. It's an understatement to say that aren't very well regarded here, and I think I have a pretty good feel for why that this.

Right now, I have a 53inch Hitachi HDTV Ultravision, and until I came to this forum, I was pretty dead-set on buying the Bose Acoustimass 16 for my HT system. I was going to get either the Kenwood VR-7070A or Onkyo TX-SR501, and the Sony DVP-NS755V to accompany it. After reading the Bose threads, I am extremely wary of dropping the $1300 for the AMS16. I have heard that Klipsch is comparable in size to Bose and a much better speaker.

My question is this: would the Klipsch Quintent with a Klipsch Sub seriously -- seriously -- have better sound than the Bose AMS16? I confess that I am a rookie and the Bose marketing machine has brainwashed me. I always thought Bose was a good speaker. I haven't had a chance to audition the Klipsch Quintet series, but I expect to within the next week. I guess then I'll be able to hear for myself.

In addition, regardless of which way I go, If I go the Onkyo route, is that enough power to the speakers (whether they are Bose or Klipsch?). I have a pretty small living room, and I'll never be able to jack the volume up. I just plan on using it for DVDs.

2. Kenneth Harden

Kenneth Harden Screenwriter

In one word: YES.

It would be like comparing a Christmas 'popper' (the thing you pull apart and stuff comes out) to a large stick of dynamite. They are both the same size, but tell me which one has more 'power' [​IMG]

No one here will argue the Klipsch (or Polk or anything else) will NOT sound a LOT better than the Bose system.

3. Rory Buszka

Rory Buszka Supporting Actor