Kinks - One for the Road

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Kirk Gunn, Dec 22, 2001.

1. Kirk Gunn

Kirk Gunn Screenwriter

I loved the Kinks back in the 70's and '80s and they were fantastic in concert.

In BB yesterday and pleasantly surprised to see a live DVD released entitled "One for the Road". That little voice in the back of my head said "Why don't you rent it first...." and I should have listened.

Being an incredibly amatuer musician, I enjoy concerts that show musicians in action. This concert (Providence RI in the late '70s, Low Budget Tour) was not meant to be videotaped. While the show has intense energy, the cameras are all behind or on the side of the stage. Very few shots where you actually SEE a front shot. The rare frontal shots are from the far end of the arena, and just a large stage shot with no detail. Every Dave Davies solo is filmed from behind him ! Now that's a great shot.... You get a perfect view of talcum powder on the backside of his guitar neck. Hello ?

Occasionally they will break the video away from the concert to show some backstage antics. What a waste. I watch concert DVD's to see the CONCERT, not some dopey shenanigans when bandmates ham it up for some cameraman.

The Audio is fair, and equal to their live release of the same time period.

Did I say I was dissapointed ?

2. Stephen L

Stephen L Second Unit

Well Kirk I have to thankyou ,I saw this also in BB and was planning to pick it up.I hate impulse buys and feeling shafted later.

3. Colin Jacobson

Colin Jacobson Producer