1. We suffered a brief outage this morning when our host noticed that HTF needed to be moved to a different server due to a hardware failure. That work is now complete. Please post in the feedback area if you have any issues.
    Dismiss Notice

King of Queens Boxset question

Discussion in 'TV on DVD and Blu-ray' started by Sven Lorenz, Oct 30, 2003.

  1. Sven Lorenz

    Sven Lorenz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    The boxset of King of Queens that will be released next month will be in fullscreen.
    From the fifth season on KoQ was aired in widescreen on HDTV and in fullscreen on normal TV.
    The opening sequence (which hasn't been changed since season two) is also in widescreen on HDTV so it must have been shot in widescreen back in season two.
    So does anybody here have any info on whether KoQ was shot in widescreen from the beginning?
    And if it wasn't - when did they start shooting in widescreen?
    I don't want to buy the boxset if it's in the wrong aspect ratio.
     
  2. Randy A Salas

    Randy A Salas Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  3. Sven Lorenz

    Sven Lorenz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    I didn't know they started broadcasting in HDTV that early.

    I'll try to email Columbia Tristar and ask them whether the boxsets will be in widescreen from season two on.

    I've watched all the new episodes from season six in widescreen and there's mostly dead space in the non-fullscreen areas of the picture - so it wouldn't be a complete disaster if they are released in fullscreen - but if it was aired in widescreen it should be released in widescreen.
     
  4. Randy A Salas

    Randy A Salas Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Apr 25, 2002
    Messages:
    1,348
    Likes Received:
    1
     
  5. Sven Lorenz

    Sven Lorenz Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2002
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes, but in a few years most people will have 16:9 sets - I am currently looking for an new set and about 2/3 of the sets in most shops are 16:9.
    So if there is an existing 16:9 transfer then they should use it.
     
  6. David Lambert

    David Lambert Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2001
    Messages:
    11,380
    Likes Received:
    38
    I bet my best pair of socks that Columbia never puts out that show in widescreen. Ever since an HDTV version has been available, it has been shown simultaneously in both 4x3 and 16x9, right? If that's the case, then I expect Columbia to continue to cater to what they will percieve as "the bigger market". If they do this with films that aren't in OAR, then why not use the "lowest common denominator" decision with TV shows, too?
     
  7. john mcfadden

    john mcfadden Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2003
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dont count on it ...If they can muck up Married with Childern ...Why stop there ??
     
  8. Dan Rudolph

    Dan Rudolph Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 30, 2002
    Messages:
    4,042
    Likes Received:
    0
    Being filmed in widescreen doesn't necessairly mean it was meant to be shown that way though. See Dawson's Creek, Buffy and Malcolm for examples of this.
     
  9. KimK

    KimK Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2001
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a feeling that a R2-UK release of this would be widescreen if ever available. I'm still getting the R1 season 1 though.
     

Share This Page