Kenwood VR7080: EQ on DD but not on DTS?

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Johnny_M, May 3, 2004.

1. Johnny_M

Johnny_M Second Unit

When i worked in the movie theater business DTS always sounded better to me over Dolby, but on my receiver dolby digital sounds MUCH better than dts. Is this normal? I have a kenwood vr7080 and it has a built in EQ system that I can adjust when listening to dolby digital, but with dts tracks it disables the eq. Is this normal? and if so is there a reason for it? Without the eq turned on everything sounds too high pitched, not enough base in the voices, but when i eq it to "cinema" with dolby digital it sounds amazing.

is this just a limitation on my receiver?

Johnny

2. Wayde_R

Wayde_R Stunt Coordinator

Differences between DD and DTS is a longstanding controversy I won't touch.

As for the EQ settings, my receivers presets are not available as soon as a recognized DTS or D.D. signal comes in. I can only mess with them in DolbyPL/II, stereo etc.

Lacking in bass using the "as is" or flat soundtracks could be your speakers or how well the speakers match your receiver. You're fortunate you're able to compensate for any deficiencies nicely with eq settings. You might find that another set of speakers behave differently.

Wayde

3. Johnny_M

Johnny_M Second Unit

well i checked my manual and it says the only time the eq is not available is with dts matrix is on. otherwise dts should be able to use tne eq also. i noticed last night when watching pirates of the carribean the display said dts matrix. the manual doesnt say it wont work for dts or dts descrete. whats the difference between matrix and descrete? kenwood manuals are so vague.

Johnny

4. Jonty Rees

Jonty Rees Stunt Coordinator

Kenwood used to have a really nice tech support forum service on their website. You have to search around for it, but if it's still there, someone will help you.

5. JamesGL

JamesGL Stunt Coordinator

I can't tell the difference.