What's new

Kenwood HTB-505 HTIB $200 (1 Viewer)

David:W

Auditioning
I'm a big newbie to the whole idea of HT. So first off -- hi! I'm finally moving up from (I'll admit it) the speakers that are built into my TV. In other words, I've been in major research mode the past few days.

I ended up settling on the Kenwood HTB-505, which, from some of the comments I've found on this board, seems to be a fairly well-recommended system. So I'm feeling pretty good about my purchase. (Sure, most of these comments were from two years ago, but anyway....)

I found a great deal -- $199.95 for a brand new HTB-505 set! Not even a refurbished one, but brand new. From what I gather, Kenwood has recently released the HTB-506, so maybe this is a clearance thing. But if anybody is looking for a $200 system, this sounds like a good bet.

So, here's a great deal I found, for my first post....

see you 'round
-david

(a little later....)

Ok, so the forums don't like people posting links for their first post. Well, it was the thought that counts, eh?

Instructions:
- visit digitalfotoclub.com
- click "Christmas Specials" in the left side menu
- the HTB-505 is about six rows down

Marc Bax

Second Unit
David that sounds like a good deal. I payed $250 for my 505 when it was being cleared out to make room for the 506 at Best Buy probably about 18 months ago. Overall I'm satisfied with the system. I wish it had 2 sets of front speaker outputs though because for music the provided speakers just don't cut it for me. I could upgrade the front 2 speakers but then they wouldn't match up with the rest. For movies it sounds infinitely better and sounds fine on music DVD's. For your surround sound needs it's a great starter system. I just use a seperate older stereo receiver and speakers for music listening.

Users who are viewing this thread

and receive essential news, curated deals, and much more