Kenwood 6070 Owners Help

Discussion in 'AV Receivers' started by Kevinkall, Apr 2, 2003.

  1. Kevinkall

    Kevinkall Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm wondering if there is a way to adjust the speaker levels on the Kenwood 6070 without having to listen to the test tones. This is not covered in the manual. I want to setup the speakers using a test disc and a meter and not use the test tones on the receiver. Thanks in advance for any help.

    Also if anybody could explain to me what the BASS PEAK feature does and what level I should have it set to. I'm using the Sony WM40 sub. Thanks again.
     
  2. Kevinkall

    Kevinkall Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Anyone? Any help would be great!
     
  3. Rajeev_s

    Rajeev_s Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2002
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have a 6060, I think its the same setting as 6070. When you are using the reciever press button #28 (from 6070 manual, pg38) on your remote, its the button to the right top of Joystick on your remote, its called 'Menu, Sound'. Press that and you will get the speaker level menu and you can use the joystick to increase decrease level that without the tones.
    I think I remember this right, Ill have to try it out at home this evening and see.
    You can give it a try and see. If not, I can post this evening.
     
  4. Kevinkall

    Kevinkall Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the post!

    I've tried that and I can only change the level on the center and surround channels. No front left or right. I've also tired changing the listening mode and trying the same thing with no avail. Any other suggestions?
     
  5. Lee Carbray

    Lee Carbray Second Unit

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2002
    Messages:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    I do not think you can adjust the mains without hearing the tones. On my Kenwood you can't either. You have to take a reading from the disk go into the test tone menu make an adjustment and them go back to the disk and check it again. Go back and forth until you get it correct. If you start with one of your mains and set it to reference with disk and match all the other speakers up to it you will only have to go through this inconvenience once.

    Oh, and I have no idea what the bass peak thing is.
     
  6. Kevinkall

    Kevinkall Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the response!

    That sucks! You would think that there would be a way to setup the speakers without hearing the test tones from the receiver. I would setup the speakers using the test tones on the receiver, but I heard that they aren't as accurate as those on setup discs. IS THAT TRUE? Which Kenwood receiver do you have? I also still can't find any info on the BASS PEAK feature. Thanks again.
     
  7. Arthur S

    Arthur S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 1999
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    Kevin

    Having to use the test tones is an unfortunate aspect of the 6070. I've spoken to Kenwood techs and there is no other way to do it.

    The good news is that I have some idea of the bass peak limiter. Mine was set at -30db and I wasn't getting enough volume from my sub. I changed it to -20 and now I get plenty of bass.

    The other one is the Subwoofer Re-Mix. Turning that on also adds more bass. Some of this is keeping the bass in the front channels. If you don't have front speakers that can really handle bass you may want to leave the ReMix off.

    I think the owners manual talks about the ReMix.

    Artie
     
  8. Kevinkall

    Kevinkall Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the info!

    So far that's the only drawback I have found in this receiver.

    Did you use the test tones from the receiver to setup your speakers or did you use a setup disc?

    Thanks again!
     
  9. Arthur S

    Arthur S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 1999
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    0
    You're welcome Kevin. I have not used a setup disc, just my ears and my Ratshack digital meter. If you don't have one of those, get the analog one when it is on sale.

    Ideally, setting the levels is a 2 person job. One to set the levels and one to hold the meter in the listening position. I usually don't have that luxury so I will make the adjustment jumping up and down.

    I also wish the level of the white noise was lower, but it seems you must start at some given level, then you can lower the volume.
     
  10. Kevinkall

    Kevinkall Second Unit

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2003
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    I also have the digital meter from RATSHACK[​IMG] and have setup my speakers using the test tones on the receiver. I just borrowed the VE setup disc from a friend and was wondering if using those test tones were better then the ones on the receiver. I think it was in the SOUND AND VISION review of this receiver were it said they got different results using a setup disc. ???

     
  11. Arthur S

    Arthur S Cinematographer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 1999
    Messages:
    2,568
    Likes Received:
    0

Share This Page