What's new

Kef's q5 setup or klipsch's f3's?? (1 Viewer)

tracy.t

Auditioning
I'm a newbie in home theatres and have been saving up for a nice setup. This is my first setup and was gonna buy the onkyo Home theatre in a box for CC for $500 but figured why not save the money and save for a better one so now I'm stuck with a decision on the Klipsch's F3 setup with 12inch sub from bestbuy for about 2K or was at ultimate electronics yesterday and saw the kef Q5 fronts 10"sub,2 bookshels, and upgraded to the IQ6 center. I need your opinion on what system would be better for the money. I'm spending about the same amount and was wondering which you guys would buy. Thanks in advance!!

ScottCHI

Screenwriter
My $0.02.

Those speakers have completely different sounds, so it's your personal preference. Both are fine choices.

KEFs = stronger, crystal-clear midrange; weaker low-end; less efficient

Klipsch = very efficient; more sizzling highs, more robust low-end; weaker midrange

Very generally, the KEFs are a finesse speaker and the Klipsch are more brutish. Both attributes have their strengths and weaknesses and both can shine depending upon what they're being asked to reproduce.

You're going to have to give them a good listening to with a variety of your favorite CDs/DVDs to decide which sound you prefer. If possible, see if the dealer(s) will let you take home the front pair of each brand to test in your own listening environment.