Kazaa question

Discussion in 'Computers' started by Keith_R, Jun 15, 2003.

  1. Keith_R

    Keith_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    FL
    Real Name:
    Kyle
    Hey all, I would like to download and install Kazaa on my new computer. I'm concerned about Kazaa and spyware though. Does anyone know if Kazaa uses spyware or any other kind of harmful "ware?" thanks.
     
  2. MikeH1

    MikeH1 Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Oct 25, 2000
    Messages:
    1,492
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Try kazaa lite. It apparantly doesn't use spyware
     
  3. Keith_R

    Keith_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    FL
    Real Name:
    Kyle
    I just liked at their website, here's a quote from their no spyware policy on KMD,

     
  4. NickSo

    NickSo Producer

    Joined:
    Jul 2, 2000
    Messages:
    4,260
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Real Name:
    Nick So
    Kazaa definitely has spyware...

    to be on the safe side, download kazaalite.. i believe its at http://www.k-lite.tk
     
  5. Mike Voigt

    Mike Voigt Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Sep 30, 1997
    Messages:
    799
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Kazaa most definitely has spyware involved. One of the recent issues of PC Mag had a whole section on spyware, fairly interesting read.

    I'll see if I can dig it up.
     
  6. Reece

    Reece Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2002
    Messages:
    94
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't take credit for this link (someone else posted it here at this forum) but it might prove useful to any Kazaa user.
     
  7. Tekara

    Tekara Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    783
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    go with kazaa lite, it's all the goodness of kazaa with none of the problems. plus it comes with a few nice extras that can really help out like "speed-up" and "avi-preview."

    best of luck.
     
  8. Shawn O

    Shawn O Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 1999
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've heard of "diet kazaa" as well.Is it any good?
     
  9. Keith_R

    Keith_R Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2001
    Messages:
    1,172
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    110
    Location:
    FL
    Real Name:
    Kyle
    I went with Kazaa Lite, it seems to have no spyware according to my spyware searching program. Works fine too. My only qualm with it is that when I installed it, it put a bunch of stuff like shortcuts and program stuff in my shared folder, I would like to delete this stuff from my shared folder but I'm not sure if I can without messing up the program. Anybody have experience with this? can I delete the default stuff in my shared folder? thanks.
     
  10. Gary_E

    Gary_E Second Unit

    Joined:
    May 6, 1999
    Messages:
    366
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Do a GOOGLE search for version KazaaLite version 1.72. It is very hard to find but is still available off a few German sites.
    Version 1.72 is the finest version of Lite available. Everytime you activate the program, it will annoy you to update to the new and improved version, just refuse the upgrade and stick with 1.72. You won't regret it.

    Regards,
    -Gary
     
  11. Todd Bohlke

    Todd Bohlke Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2002
    Messages:
    42
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  12. Koren T. Wolf

    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2003
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i don't think it really matters any more because apparently, KaZaA is being monitored anyway. check this link
     
  13. Scott L

    Scott L Producer

    Joined:
    Feb 29, 2000
    Messages:
    4,457
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmmm did my post get deleted? I'm pretty sure I replied to this thread. [​IMG]

    Anyway if you get the k++ edition of Kazaalite you won't be bothered with any pop-up windows, to upgrade or otherwise. Nickso posted the link above.
     

Share This Page