What's new

JVC SVHS VCR problems (1 Viewer)

I have a model HRS-3800U SVHS VCR that has recording problems. If I record to a new blank tape the recording is fine. If to a used tape there is colored ghosting and ghost lines in the recording. Someone told me once that it may be the erase head that is the problem, not erasing the previous material completely. Was told there is a potentiometer to adjust to increase the voltage. I have taken the cover off and cannot locate it if in fact this is true.

Anyone got any ideas on this????

I am an electronics technician and not afraid to dig into this to fix it.

Thanks,
Russ

Kenny_H

Stunt Coordinator
Russ, i'm going out on a limb here and suggesting that the HR-S3800 does not have a FLYING ERASE HEAD and that is the reason you are seeing the ghosting. When I shopped for my past 3 decks by JVC, HR-S4600U, HR-S5900U & HR-S5902U, I was told that the flying erase head would eliminate the ghosting & rainbow effect between recordings. And I have not seen it with these decks. I'm always recording from Dish Network via S-VHS-ET over something and have not those problems. Hope this helps.

I'm not sure about the flying erase head either however the artifacts I'm talking about render the recording totally unwatchable. I have never seen such a thing with any VCR I've ever owned, flying erase or not. I find it hard to believe that this is an inherent flaw and still feel there is a correctable problem.

Flying erase explained:

http://www.epinions.com/content_1196728452

I see the artifacts during an entire recording not just at the beginning.

Thanks for responding,
Russ

Bill Will

Screenwriter