JVC AV-48WP74 ... Just got it Friday.. Need a little help....

Discussion in 'Displays' started by James_Barcus, Aug 17, 2003.

1. James_Barcus

James_Barcus Agent

Wow! Just bought a new JVC HDTV WS AV-48WP74 and just joined the forums here!! What I need is a little help. I've been browsing through the forums here and the answer I'm looking for is probably here somewhere. I've messed with the color, contrast, brightness controls so much I'm about to explode! So I've just left it alone and now I have a grainy, but ok image. Even on my Pioneer Progressive scan DVD Player which I'm using Component cables with .. it's picture isn't all that great.. I guess I expected something I didn't get??? If anyone has this exact tv could maybe give me the numbers you have your set callibrated too?? I'm just a novice about this.. Any help would be really helpful!!

2. Michael TLV

Michael TLV THX Video Instructor/Calibrator

Michael Chen
    Greetings

Sharing settings between Tv's is a futile exercise. It is like sharing the combination for your lock with someone else. Maybe it works ... maybe not.

Get a test disc like AVIA or SVHTT and run through the basic settings.

Type of Pioneer DVD player would also help. These units are not known for having the most stellar 480P images.

Regards

3. James_Barcus

James_Barcus Agent

That's fine.. I just need to play with it a little more.. It's a Pioneer DV-250. I figured it was the DVD player but I found this about my tv.. "With Features like Digital Image Scaling Technology where all sources are up converted to 1080i." How does that work? If that's the case then the picture should look a lot better than it does! Again maybe it's the Calibration.. Who know's.. Thanks for the help! I am going to probably get a Sony DVP-NS715P for $119 sometime soon.. Hopefully!

4. Al Shing

Al Shing Stunt Coordinator