What's new

just tried DVD-a - what am i doing wrong.. (1 Viewer)

Sean Patrick

Supporting Actor
since 1) my RP91 has DVD-A capabilities, and 2) my harman kardon avr75 receiver has 6 channel inputs, i decided to buy a dvd-audio disc and give it a whirl (fleetwood mac's "rumours").

when i started playing the disc, sounds burst out from all the speakers and i couldn't adjust the volume. with this setup, am i going to need a preamp?

i changed the setup to having the dvd plater sending analog audio from the normal l/r rca outs to one of the receiver's sets of rca inputs and played the disc again. The sound was REALLY good, warm, and noticeably better than the regular "rumours" cd.

question is - are these DVD-a's made for 5.1 surround sound or analog 2-channel stereo? am i getting any added benefit when compared to a regular cd when i'm playing it through 2-channel rca outputs?

sorry if this is a dumb question

Eric T

Second Unit
DVD-A are made for 5.1 sound. On my system, I have to use the 6 RCA outputs of my DVD player directly into the "external decoder" inputs of my receiver. Digital connection doesn't work with DVD-A for some reason...I think it's not capable to reproduce the much higher bandwidth of DVD-A.

So if your DVD player has 6 discrete outputs, plug them into your receiver and try it that way.

Sean Patrick

Supporting Actor
as it turns out the 6 channel inputs of my receiver aren't really compatible with DVD-A. The receiver is from 1999.

The sound i'm getting from the basic stereo inputs (with the stereo mix of Rumours) is phenomenal though....and quite frankly i'm not sure if i'd want a 5.1 version of it.

my question now is...am i getting any added benefit from DVD-A with my RP91 and a receiver that can't handle the 5.1...or is what i'm hearing the same as if i'd play the disc in any old dvd player??

Keith Mickunas

Senior HTF Member