What's new

Just received a pair of Axiom's (M60's - long) (1 Viewer)

Sheldon C

Second Unit
Ok, let me start by giving a disclaimer. I am by no means a speaker expert. I have only heard the following speakers in a home environment: JBL (what BB sells, don't know the model), Infinity (CC sells, same), Klipsh rf 7, B%W (600 series, don't remember the exact number), and of course the speakers I have owned since college, cerwin vega. I do own a pair of Grado sr80 headphones which were what showed me that I need to upgrade all my speakers. So anyway, when I say I have never heard anything like the Axioms take that for what it's worth. I've never heard Ascends, Rockets, etc.

My speakers were delivered yesterday, and I had a chance to set them up and get a first impression. First of all, I was very happy with the color of the boston cherry because I have some wood paneling on some of the walls in my basement and the speakers are a near perfect match.

Calibration was a breeze because the m60’s sensitivity ended up being exactly 10db less than my old cerwin vegas. I had my cerwin vega mains set on –10db on the receiver to allow the rears and center to play loud enough so all I had to do was change the setting on the receiver back to normal and everything was calibrated correctly(according to the meter).