What's new

Just gotta new toy (1 Viewer)

EarleD

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Earle Decker
Its a D-Link MediaLounge wireless media player(DSM-320) and a Linksys wireless G router. I can finally stream mp3's to my HT without the hassle of running cable.

This is my first attempt at setting up home network. Setup was simple. Plug in the router and and run the included software. Everything worked the first time.
I turned on the media player, it found the routers signal and viola 5 minutes later music was playing.

Sound quality is pretty good, I rip my mps's at 320kps. I cant wait until I get all my CD's ripped and can retire them to storage as backups.

The D-Link player is pretty easy to use, even my wife is having no trouble using it.

Anyone else here doing this? It is the ultimate in COOL.

Ive had this for a couple of weeks now, and the only complaint I have is that you cant play the songs on a CD in the order intended. The media server plays them in alphabetical order.

Earle

Angelo.M

Senior HTF Member
Earle:

I'm doing this as well, but with the Roku Soundbridge, which will control iTunes over a wireless or wired network. I have just about all the music I need ripped as AAC files, and the Roku interface makes for a great jukebox.

Enjoy. :D

EarleD

Supporting Actor
Real Name
Earle Decker
It's great to see others are taking advantage of this cool technology.

Too bad you cant stream Hi-Res formats, hopefully in the future.

Scott Merryfield

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Scott Merryfield
Earle, I hope you turned on the wireless security features for your Linksys router. They are usually turned off by default.

Angelo, have you played any 128K AAC files on your home system with this? I was looking at the Roku, too, since I've ripped everything in AAC at bitrates from 128K - 192K, depending on the material, to fit everything on my 40GB iPod. I wasn't sure if 128K AAC would sound decent on my home system, though (especially since I'm used to SACD sound quality).