Just got my first TICKET! ...suggestions?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Mike_Ped, Dec 12, 2001.

1. Mike_Ped

Mike_Ped Second Unit

It was bound to happen I guess. I've been driving for 3 years now, and for the last year I've been driving from Oxnard,CA(home) to San Luis Obispo,CA to see my g/f (she's a student there). Welp, this last Saturday, on my way home I got a ticket in Solvang on the 101 freeway... (sigh)

I was trying to pass another car and change lanes to get away from a guy behind me whose headlights were blinding me (I have a small car, he had a large truck). Right when I finished my pass, there were those beautiful blue lights... The HP said he clocked me at 80mph in a 65 zone. I really don't know how fast I was going...just trying to get past.

So, what are my options? It sux having to look forward to a ticket this close to christmas. I once read somewhere that instead of actually showing up in court to contest a ticket or ask for a reduction, it can be done through the mail. Is that true? Can I fight this thing through a letter? If I did chose to fight it, and I lose, can I still pay it AND take traffic school? Should I just pay it? How much are they usually?

Any help would be great!

--Mike

P.S. One thing that makes me think...I have a POS of a car, and when I hit 80, it usually shakes and the engine gets really loud....this didn't happen, so I don't think I was going that fast....hmm...just something to think about I guess.

2. Ryan Peter

Ryan Peter Screenwriter

So you were passing on a lane where traffic is coming toward you? So two single lanes side by side, with traffic going one way on one side and the opposite direction on the other side?

---------------

---------------

OK if that's the case, I thought it was legal to speed up and pass if the other person is going the speed limit. That's as long as it's a passing zone. Can anyone clarify this?

3. Mike_Ped

Mike_Ped Second Unit

Lemme clarify...