Just getting started - I already have questions and will update

Discussion in 'Home Theater Projects' started by Kevin R, Mar 3, 2005.

1. Kevin R

Kevin R Auditioning

Hope this is the right place for this. Please let me know if it is not.

OK everyone I am just getting started on my dedicated home thater project and I have been lurking here for quite some time.

The room is 12' X 18'6" with 10' ceilings and was originally designed as a pool room (turned out to be just a bit small) moving the pool table up to our 14 x 18 loft upstairs and I get a dedicated theater room. The wife is not thrilled with the idea of 3 rooms with couches in a row, but I have convinced her at this point and she says if we are going to make it a movie room than make it a REAL movie room (lucky me YEAH) so off we go...

First step is to make it into an enclosed room fitted for a dedicated theater. As you can see in the picture the room is open to the entry of our hosue by a large 6 x 9 arch that I will fill with double arch doors (this will burn about 10% of my budget actually - bye bye anew reciever and an extra sub) The room is quite dark to start with only one window getting late afternoon sun, and that will easily be covered by black out curtains that will cover the entire back wall and server as both window covering and some sound absorption.

I plan on raising the back of the room by framing 2 x 8 studs with one 4" step on the right side and placing it above the existing carpet getting the risers carpeted to match (carpet is less than 2 years old and not worn so matching should be no problem)

That brings me to my first question... How do I build the riser? Do I need to attach the exterior 2x8s to the walls or will it be ok freestanding? if free standing how to I ensure they stay close to the wall so I can do molding etc...

2. Andrew Stoakley

Andrew Stoakley Stunt Coordinator

Hey Kevin,