just calibrated with the new sound and vision disk!

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Greg Br, Jan 20, 2002.

1. Greg Br

Greg Br Second Unit

Since I first bought all this HT equiptment I have been waiting for this new disk to come in. I received it Sat. and calibrated last night. I have never used the Avia or VE disks before so I have no reference as of yet. I can say that using this disk is about child proof, its that easy. The hardest thing on the whole disk was adjusting my contrast on the video portion, and that was just the pattern they used. The disk goes through 5.1 theory and equiptment needed, wire setup, video and audio calibrations and upgrades. The audio portion was simple but left me with one major difference from all the posts I have read, and that is to calibrate the audio it said to turn the volume to the listening level that is normal for you to use, in my case that was -27(on a yammy rxv-1000), not the 00 level I have heard often.

The second question that arose was the sub auio test, the sub test used noise from the left front main and the directions were to turn my base up till it read the same level on the spl. I did this but my bass was only turned up to the 10:00 position(I had been using it at about 1:30 or so on my JBL PB-12(already ready to upgrade that)). I popped in Kung Fu on the matrix and the bass was just nowhere near the volume that I enjoy or expected compared to theater levels. I am not sure if I screwed this calibration up or what.

There are other audio test paterns that were on the main menu that I have not tried yet, I just ran through the video and all the chapters.