What's new

Just bought a Denon 1600 and have a question. (1 Viewer)

Jeff Adams

Screenwriter
Hello all, I just purchased this player and am very impressed. The picture quality is outstanding through the progressive scan output. My question is when it comes to the audio. I actually think I had my old player set up wrong, I had it set to PCM for Dolby Digital and DTS. And it sounded good but not as open and detailed as I was hoping. Now that I have the 1600 the sound is amazing, very open and detailed. What I have noticed is that some of the low frequency impact has now been lost with my new player. I have it set up to Downconversion "NO", DTS and DD Bitstream. Is this the correct set up? I am no expert in the different frequency range but when I say lost some of the low frequency impact, it is in the 40-90hz range. The very low frequency is still there 20-40hz shakes everything in my room. Some examples I have are In T2 where Arnold is shooting the mini gun at Cyberdyne. It sounds good does not have a lot of impact, in The Matrix where Neo is in the Helicopter and shooting the mini gun, once agin, sounds good but not a lot of impact. One more scene that I like to use for demo purposes is the end scene of Saving Private Ryan, all the shooting in that scene used to have a ton of impact. The audio sounds very detailed and clean but I want that 40-90 hz punch in the chest that I used to get with my JVC dvd player. The 1600 only has a toslink digital connection. I don't want to start this debate, but is it due to I am now using an optical toslink interconnect compared to the coax digital connect? What can be causing this? Any suggestions?

Lewis Besze

Senior HTF Member
You forgott to include the rest of the set up.
Receiver, speakers,BM set up, sub etc.......

Jeff Adams

Screenwriter
Lewis,
The rest of my setup is
1.Marantz SR-9200 7.1 A/V receiver
2.PSB Image 6t's for the left and right fronts
3.PSB Image 9C for center
4.PSB Image 10's for surrounds