Just another one of countless newbs that need a little advice(kinda long)

Discussion in 'Playback Devices' started by Todd*Sa, Feb 23, 2004.

1. Todd*Sa

Todd*Sa Extra

Hello everyone. I can't say I am a complete newb because I knew a little something about home audio before I came here and read the FAQ's and about 20 pages here in the forum! But my knowledge is still quite small compared to most of you guys. Might as well get started...

I am getting a new 32" TV (not HD) and a surround sound system. This system is just for my basement, where I will mostly be playing Xbox and watching some DVD's. My fiancee has put me on quite a tight budget, understandably, since it is just going to be the basement system. I have a TOTAL budget of about $800. I have pretty much decided on a TV already that costs $400 and has 1 component in, 1 S-video and plenty of composite connections.

Just by reading a few posts here I know you guys do not like HTiB, but this is pretty much all my budget will allow, and it is not going to be a primary system(well it kind of is for now until we upgrade our family room stuff later). So please don't tell me how bad they are and not to do it.

That being said, I want to get the very most bang for my buck. Here is how I picture my setup in my mind:
    1)Cable box to be hooked up using composite video
    2)Xbox to be hooked up using s-video and digital optical(will be my DVD player also since I do not need prog. scan)

Here is the system that I narrowed it down to after a little looking around: Kenwood HTB-206. It has all the connections I need, is 600 watts(manuf. rated BS!), and looks pretty decent. I like this system also because it has a dedicated receiver, not a DVD/receiver.