John Wayne film recommendations?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Ernest Aguayo, Sep 26, 2001.

1. Ernest Aguayo

Ernest Aguayo Stunt Coordinator

I was so impressed with the guidance I received when I asked for suggestions for http://www.hometheaterforum.com/uub/Forum9/HTML/007439.html
    I am just getting into John Wayne. What are considered some of his best films? I am looking for him as tough, don't-screw-with-me characters with kick-ass, don't-screw-with-me dialogue. Any favorites of yours?
    Thanks.

2. Mitty

Mitty Supporting Actor

He made close to 200 films, so your list may be long, but my personal favourites, and a good place to start, are:
    Stagecoach - the film that made him a star
    Red River
    The Searchers
    Rio Bravo
    The Man Who Shot Liberty Valance

3. Brad_W

Brad_W Screenwriter

I'm not a John Wayne fan, but I think there is a box set or two on DVD that you could pick up and enjoy. I know there are Clint Eastwood box sets. Just an idea.
    ------------------
    "I was born to murder the world." -Nix (Lord of Illusions)
    My Home Page http://www.geocities.com/masternix/DVD.html

4. Rain

Rain Producer

All of the previous films mentioned are great. I would also personally recommend They Were Expendable (not a Western).
    Some others that I have not personally seen, but that have a good reputation among film lovers:
    The Shootist
    True Grit
    The Longest Day
    ------------------
    [​IMG][​IMG]
    "Imagine all the people, living life in peace..." - Imagine by John Lennon
    Anyone in the Vancouver Canada area interested in a meet? Click here
    MOVING ON DOES NOT MEAN FORGETTING.

5. Rich Malloy

Rich Malloy Producer

If you haven't seen it yet, then you need to see THE SEARCHERS. It's one of Wayne's greatest roles and one of Ford's greatest films.

6. Marty M

Marty M Cinematographer