What's new

Joe Satriani's "Strange Beautiful Music" - SACD........WOW! (1 Viewer)

John Pine

Supporting Actor
Real Name
John Pine
Just picked this one up and I was stunned by the audio quality (surround track) and the great songs it contains. I also played it back in stereo, but…..I guess I just prefer the surround mix. I am by no means a Satriani fan. Like a lot a people, I bought the “Surfing With the Alien” CD long ago, but have not listened to it for years. I did also buy the “Live in San Francisco” concert DVD a few years ago, but it was a little “hard” for my tastes. However, I consider this SACD a "Must Have"! I'm new to the DVD-A/SACD format, but this disc helps explain what all the fuss is about. Oddly enough, the only reason I picked it up was I read, on this forum, about some guy raving about a song called "Belly Dancer". Thanks to the guys at HTF, I think I’m now using my new Denon 2900 to full effect!

Rachael B

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
Rachael Bellomy
It is a bitchin' disc. Like so many Sony discs it might of done worlds better if it had been or was now re-released as a hybrid. Beyond Sony's casual disintrest in their own format, it's one of their best sounding discs so far IMHO. It's a bit too hotly recorded but just a bit, nowhere near two CD's I bought this week that audibly clip badly, one very noticably. I hope there's another Satriani SA-CD sum-day??? :)

John Pine

Supporting Actor
Real Name
John Pine
Rachael B: My mistake, guess I should have said, "Guys & Gals at HTF!"

Mike Broadman

Senior HTF Member
Great album.
I also give my highest recommendation to Satch's other SACD, Engines of Creation. It's only stereo, but what stereo! The best sounding rock SACD from Sony I've heard. The music is his most unique- he uses some electronics on his backing tracks. But it's surprisingly good.

John Pine

Supporting Actor
Real Name
John Pine