Jedi-Fast Subtitles in SW1?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Alan_Horner, Oct 16, 2001.

  1. Alan_Horner

    Alan_Horner Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2001
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Haven't seen this mentioned anywhere before (and I apologize if it has), but:
    Some of the subtitled translations for alien language in TPM are displayed so quickly (visible for just a second or two) you'd think they were meant for Jedi-trained eyes only! This seems to happen most often when the troupe first reaches Tatooine; later in the film, the problem isn't so bad. One of the translations went by so fast I couldn't even read the first word!
    Youch.
    Of course, I'm talking only about the subtitles that are part of the film, not the subtitles that you turn on with your remote. And it's not the same for every displayed translation. Some are fine, some are quick, and some are just (literally) flashed.
    Am I the only one having this problem?
     
  2. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
  3. Richard Kim

    Richard Kim Producer

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2001
    Messages:
    4,385
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I actually like the subs in TPM. I had no trouble reading them (maybe it's because I've seen it 10+ times. [​IMG] ) Unlike other player generated subs, the TPM subs gradually fade out. It's a nice effect, and I hope it's used in future titles.
     
  4. Tony Pantoliano

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 1999
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The sub-titles are as quick as closed captioning... as a rule-of-thumb, with any kind of on-screen title, you should be able to read through them twice before they disappear... learned that in my days directing TV news!
     
  5. Greg Z

    Greg Z Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 1998
    Messages:
    110
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They do fly by, don't they?
     
  6. Shad R

    Shad R Supporting Actor

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2001
    Messages:
    536
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    They are BELOW the widescreen picutre on mine, not on the picture. How does it work if you have a 16x9 TV?
     
  7. Emil Stoica

    Emil Stoica Second Unit

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 1998
    Messages:
    271
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Shad,
    On a 16x9 tv, the subs are in the picture. I like the fade out effect as well.
     
  8. Ron Eastman

    Ron Eastman Second Unit

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    415
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
     
  9. SteveGon

    SteveGon Executive Producer

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2000
    Messages:
    12,251
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Alan, I noticed it too. A glitch maybe?
    ------------------
    He thought on homeland, the big timber, the air thin and chill all the year long. Tulip poplars so big through the trunk they put you in mind of locomotives set on end. He thought of getting home and building him a cabin on Cold Mountain so high that not a soul but the nighthawks passing across the clouds in autumn could hear his sad cry. Of living a life so quiet he would not need ears. And if Ada would go with him, there might be the hope, so far off in the distance he did not even really see it, that in time his despair might be honed off to a point so fine and thin that it would be nearly the same as vanishing.
    -- Charles Frazier, Cold Mountain
     
  10. Leroy

    Leroy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I can't see the alien language or commentary track subtitles at all. I'm using a JVC GD723 player progressive scan into a Mits 16X9 set. I can get English sub track for all the dialog, but not the others. I can see that there are four sub tracks, 3 English and 1 Spanish.
    Do I have a possible defect?
    [Edited last by Leroy on October 16, 2001 at 11:31 PM]
     
  11. DanL

    DanL Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2000
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I had problems as well. I have a Toshiba 3109 (which is notorious for not accepting these gimmicky kinds of subtitles) and didn't even see them until I fiddled with the subs ettings and finally got alien languages. After the layer change, everything reset and I had to manually activate them again.
     
  12. PatrickM

    PatrickM Screenwriter

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2000
    Messages:
    1,138
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just make sure that English Subtitle 2 is on and you'll get the Alien translation.
     
  13. Clinton McClure

    Clinton McClure Casual Enthusiast
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 1999
    Messages:
    4,469
    Likes Received:
    441
    Trophy Points:
    4,110
    Location:
    Central Arkansas
    Real Name:
    Clint
  14. Christine Warren

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2000
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    The first lot were fine here but just before the pod race there were none, follwed by lightning flashes of words - time to check out the ENG 1 and ENG 2 thing by the look of it.
    Christine
     
  15. Leroy

    Leroy Second Unit

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 1997
    Messages:
    305
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Well, try as I might I could not get the alien or commentary subs to work. Only the main subtitle track works (the one for all the dialog)works. Also, I can't seem to get any other menu than the Tatooine one. I haven't tried the manual select trick, but I get nothing but Tatooine nor do I get any of Watto warnings that are supposed to come on when the menu is idle for a time.
     
  16. Richard_Huntington

    Richard_Huntington Stunt Coordinator

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2001
    Messages:
    127
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hello. This is my first post. I am having subtitle problems on PHANTOM MENACE. On my Toshiba SD2700, they are just fine. But on my Toshiba SD1600, they either flash too quickly, or not at all.
    Is this due to the fade in and fade out method? Perhaps the subtitles are too advanced for some players to handle?
    Thanks
    ------------------
    "My wife actually prefers widescreen"
     
  17. Robert_V

    Robert_V Agent

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2000
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have a Toshiba 3109, and the first time I played SWI, the subtitles went by super-quick. The next time I played the flick, the subtitles faded in and out beautifully!
    Go Figure?!?!
    Rob
     

Share This Page