JBLe250P sub owners... question for you

Discussion in 'Speakers & Subwoofers' started by Andrew s wells, Jun 10, 2004.

1. Andrew s wells

Andrew s wells Second Unit

I am really new to the sub thing, so I need some help. What do I set the crossover frequency level for, if I have the subwoofer handling the bass? I read something about the levels if you have large or small speakers, but i assume thats if you use them to handle the bass also.. I hope I worded that ok. :b

2. Fred_Krampits

Fred_Krampits Stunt Coordinator

Andrew: How have you connected the E250P to the receiver? If you have it in the LFE postition for the receiver doing the bass management, I think the crossover doesn't do anything anyway.

The Crossover Frequency Control determines the highest frequency at which the subwoofer reproduces sounds. If your main speakers can comfortably reproduce some lowfrequency sounds, set this control to a lower frequency setting, between 50Hz and 100Hz. This will concentrate the subwoofer’s efforts on the ultradeep bass sounds required by today’s films and music. If you are using smaller bookshelf speakers that do not extend to the lower bass frequencies, set the low-pass crossover control to a higher setting, between 120Hz and 150Hz. This control is not used when the LFE switch is in the “LFE” position.

3. Pus Suchre

Pus Suchre Stunt Coordinator

Fred, for what ever reason- your explanation turned the lights on for me as far as explaining cross over. I sorta, kinda knew what it was- but now I feel in control of the concept. Sometimes it takes a few passes for me before things sink in. Anyway, thanks for a simple but useful explanation of cross over. Pus

4. Andrew s wells