What's new

Jbl Scs160si (1 Viewer)

Jeff smit

Agent
Hi to all, I'm a newbie here and just bought the Denon 3803 for $648.06 after reading another thread here (thanks). The problem comes from that the receiver ate up most my $1000. budget. I have found these (JBL SCS160SI)
for $350. The wife really likes the size of these and am curious if anyone could recomend something else in that price range that is complete for 6.1 also one last question...what do people think of the JBL SCS160SI

thanks in advance
Jeff

p.s. great board as I would have never found the price of 648 for the 3803

John Garcia

Senior HTF Member
Real Name
John
Will this be more for movies or music? Congrats on getting the deal on the 3803.

Honestly, these speakers are not worthy of a receiver of the level of the 3803, nor are they going to perform well for music, IMO, they are simply too small. I'd work on the wife and try to convince her to go for something a bit larger, though that also is going to mean a bit more expensive. In this price range for the whole set, you will probably want to look at Fluance and Home Theater Direct speakers.

Check for reviews for the JBLs at audioreview.com and cnet.com

Jeff smit

Agent
Thanks for the reply and links. After some more discussion with my better half,we could possibly go with a little bigger in size on the speakers but not much more on the money. so here is the new question? What would you get for a complete set of 6.1 including sub for under $500. I'm totally open to suggestions and would like to hear all suggestions.

thanks
Jeff

Pablo Abularach

Supporting Actor
I think you should defentely check
JBL NSP1II 5-Piece Home-Cinema Speaker Package $209 Very good entry level setup.

and get a separate sub, maybe

DAYTON 10" 100 WATT POWERED SUBWOOFER $125 Seems to be very poplular lately, the reviews say that it sounds pretty decent for its price, its not boomy.