1. Sign-up to become a member, and most of the ads you see will disappear. It only takes 30 seconds to sign up, so join the discussion today!
    Dismiss Notice

JBL SCS 135 Speaker Package and what receiver?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Isaac K, Jun 8, 2002.

1. Isaac K

Isaac K Stunt Coordinator

I'm a college student looking to put together an inexpensive yet decent home theater system. I was thinking about ordering the JBL SCS 135 Speaker Package as I can get it for under $300 shipped online. I listened to the set in a retail store and was pretty impressed. I was wondering what entry level receiver would go well with these speakers. Keep in mind I am on a pretty tight budget and this system does not need to go to insane volume levels, as it will be in medium to small rooms. Any recommendations for receivers and/or speaker packages would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Adam Bluhm

Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

I've heard and read good things about Denon and Pioneer. This is the receiver I will be getting (probably this fall, unless something newer comes out by then) and you can probably find it for under $400 online.
    http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...VR1602&o=m&a=0
    As I said, I've read good things about Pioneer models, such as this:
    http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...SXD711&o=m&a=0
    I don't know of anything cheaper that will bring good-excellent sound quality. I heard that lower end Sony's (for example) don't fair well with the advertised power. The two I've listed should be a start, anyway. [​IMG]

3. John A. Casler

John A. Casler Second Unit

The Harman Kardon AVR125 or AVR225 are a perfect match and both will give you incredble "bang for your buck".

JBL and Harman Kardon actually combined these with a 5 dvd changer in one of their JBL HT systems.

Look online and you can find the recievers for low pricing.

John Casler

4. Isaac K

Thank you John and Adam for the advice!

5. David Ison