1. The HTF Tapatalk application has been discontinued. Please see the thread in the Forum Help & Feedback area for more information.
    Dismiss Notice

JBL SCS 135 Speaker Package and what receiver?

Discussion in 'Archived Threads 2001-2004' started by Isaac K, Jun 8, 2002.

1. Isaac K

Isaac K Stunt Coordinator

I'm a college student looking to put together an inexpensive yet decent home theater system. I was thinking about ordering the JBL SCS 135 Speaker Package as I can get it for under $300 shipped online. I listened to the set in a retail store and was pretty impressed. I was wondering what entry level receiver would go well with these speakers. Keep in mind I am on a pretty tight budget and this system does not need to go to insane volume levels, as it will be in medium to small rooms. Any recommendations for receivers and/or speaker packages would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. Adam Bluhm

Adam Bluhm Supporting Actor

I've heard and read good things about Denon and Pioneer. This is the receiver I will be getting (probably this fall, unless something newer comes out by then) and you can probably find it for under $400 online.
    http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...VR1602&o=m&a=0
    As I said, I've read good things about Pioneer models, such as this:
    http://www.crutchfield.com/cgi-bin/S...SXD711&o=m&a=0
    I don't know of anything cheaper that will bring good-excellent sound quality. I heard that lower end Sony's (for example) don't fair well with the advertised power. The two I've listed should be a start, anyway. [​IMG]

3. John A. Casler

John A. Casler Second Unit

The Harman Kardon AVR125 or AVR225 are a perfect match and both will give you incredble "bang for your buck".

JBL and Harman Kardon actually combined these with a 5 dvd changer in one of their JBL HT systems.

Look online and you can find the recievers for low pricing.

John Casler

4. Isaac K

Thank you John and Adam for the advice!

5. David Ison

David Ison Stunt Coordinator